Carrot Pulp Experiment #2

So I adapted my own recipe from this one. I have wanted to make something like this for a while now and since I had to pick up some other things at Whole Foods earlier today, I grabbed the seeds needed to finish this recipe.

Seedy Carrot Crackers

3 cups of carrot pulp (left over from juicing)

1 fresh tomato

the juice of 1 Meyer lemon

1 cup of water

1/2 cup of golden flax seeds (I did not grind mine beforehand, I will next time)

1/2 cup of chia seeds (I think I will leave these out next time)

1/2 cup of sesame seeds (I think I will use half this amount next time)

generous shakings of garlic powder, onion powder and peppered bacon salt

generous squeeze of sriracha

couple of drops of argan oil

Directions

Add water, lemon juice and seasonings to vitamix, then add chopped tomato, flax seeds (or meal if you used ground flax) and carrot pulp. Blend well until a doughy and homogenized mass has been created. You will need to tamp periodically during this process and your Vitamix might lock up a couple times. Just shut it off, mix that shit up a bit with the tamper then carry on until complete. Scrape blended mixture into a mixing bowl and add the chia & sesame seeds. Mix well and turn out onto a parchment lined baking sheet. (I used a 15-1/2 x10 stoneware bar pan.) Evenly spread mixture with your hands, smoothing it as you do so. My method for baking was to cook for 12 hours in a 170 degree F convection oven. But if your oven will go lower, say to 105 degrees F, then that would work too…I think. Or you can just spread the mixture on dehydrator trays and do it that way.

The end result is not exactly pretty to look at, but they taste quite good…a little like those sesame sticks that sometimes come in snack mixes. They are even better with a schmear of whipped cream cheese or extra crunchy peanut butter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have a plan to make another version of these using a little spinach and no sesame seeds and probably different spices. I think the possibilities are almost endless.

Edited to add: BRAINSTORM! I think my next batch will be simple carrot crackers with only 1/4 cup of sesame seeds and I will flavor with kefta spices.

Leave a Reply

