Carrot Pulp Experiment #3

I adapted a recipe that I found here to use what I had on hand. It galls me to use a recipe that effing Zakarian has created, but while I don’t care for him on a lot of cooking shows, he does know his shit. He got some skillz. I only had carrot pulp…always with the carrot pulp…I have nightmares about carrot pulp.

Faux Meatballs

2 cups of carrot pulp (if you have a centrifugal juicer rather than a masticating one, you will have to strain some of the liquid out of the pulp)

1 egg (I used two because I had more than 2 cups of pulp, you could easily sub flax meal mixed with water here for a vegan option)

1 tbl extra virgin olive oil

garlic powder

onion powder

dried oregano

peppered bacon salt (I used this in lieu of salt & pepper…it’s low in sodium and adds a nice bacony punch)

1/4 cup of panko bread crumbs

1/4 cup parmesan reggiano cheese, finely grated (this could be subbed out for some vegan parm)

1 jar of your favorite pasta sauce (I currently have Bertolli Tomato & Basil)

enough cooked spaghetti for 4 people (I used a veggie spaghetti I get at a local grocery…MOAR FIBAR!)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or line the top rack of the oven with foil and spray on some olive oil cooking spray (this is what I did).

In a large bowl, mix together the vegetable pulp, cheese, oregano, bacon salt, garlic & onion powders until well combined. Beat the egg with the oil and add to the mix, Combine well then add the breadcrumbs, mixing again. Allow mixture to sit for about 5-10 minutes before forming meatballs using about 2 tablespoons of the mixture for each. Place the meatballs on the prepared baking sheet or foil.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA(after 15 minutes, they no longer looked orange, but cooked to look almost like a poultry meatball.)

Bake for 30 minutes, using a spatula to flip the meatballs halfway through baking. Add to warmed sauce and serve atop spaghetti with a sprinkle of parm.

Edit: These taste amazing, almost like a chicken or turkey meatball. The texture is perfect. One suggestion I would make is to not put them in the warmed sauce, rather set them atop the portions of pasta and ladle sauce over them. This is what I ended up doing. I think if they sat in the warm sauce they could get mushy.

Leave a Reply

