Of Fish Loins and Baking

So I bought some wild Alaskan cod loins from ye olde door to door organics. I have eaten plenty of cod in my life, usually battered and fried to within an inch of it’s life. It’s not a fish I usually buy as Spouse is not a fish fan..unless it is prepared in the above mentioned way. However, the Rabid Hyena Pair & I are rabid fish & seafood lovers, and as these were on sale I figured we could try them.

After perusing several recipes for cod loin online, I found this one which is incredibly close to what I do with tilapia and bocourti/basa. I then proceeded to change it…as I do with nearly all recipes save for baked goods, heh. This is the final product:

Cumin Baked Cod Loin

4 – 4 oz cod loin fillets (as close to the same thickness as possible)

2 tbl of melted butter

the juice of one lime

peppered bacon salt (I used this in lieu of salt & pepper…I do this a lot because bacon salt is lower in sodium and adds a nice smoky flavor)

1/4-1/3 cup of panko bread crumbs seasoned with garlic powder, onion powder, cumin and paprika

1-2 tbl olive oil for oiling the baking dish

olive oil cooking spray

Directions

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Oil a shallow baking dish with the olive oil and place the fillets inside. Mix the melted butter and lime juice and drizzle over all the fillets then sprinkle with bacon salt. Allow this to sit for about 10-15 minutes. You want that flavor soaking in to the fish some.

While this is sitting and marinating, mix the bread crumbs with the spices if you had not done so already, then top each portion with a nice amount. Enough to cover the top but not be a crusty nightmare. Something like this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Spray tops of becrumbed fish with some olive oil cooking spray and bake until bread crumbs are browned & crisped and the fish flakes easily, about 12-15 min or longer depending on the thickness of the fillets.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I served these with some steamed, buttered peas for a really simple dinner.

Leave a Reply

