Roast Beast…Under Pressure

Yeah, I don’t know if I will ever get tired of my pressure cooker, so expect a lot more recipes on here, heh.

I have a bottom round beef roast, about 2 pounds that I needed to cook. I had plans to make this, but said plans went awry when my lazy nature took over. So this is my take on a quickly cooked pot roast to be used for later meals, sandwiches or what have you.

1 – 2 lb bottom round beef roast

2 celery ribs, diced

1 medium carrot, peeled & diced

1 medium shallot, minced

1 small bunch of green onions, sliced

1/4 cup water

1/8 cup wine of your choice (a good table red would be perfect, I only had Savignon Blanc and so used that)

1 can of fire roasted, diced tomatoes

meat rub of your choice (I used a coffee and garlic rub from Trader Joe’s)

2 tbl extra virgin olive oil

healthy drizzle of worcestershire sauce

4 bay leaves

Rinse and pet dry roast, rub on all sides with the meat rub of your choice. Turn Instant Pot on to saute (medium is fine), add olive oil and sear meat on all sides.

RoastBeast 001

(yeah, yeah…I snapped my pic before I finished searing)

Remove meat and add celery, carrot, green onion and shallot, stirring to mix well and make sure all bits are coated with oil.

RoastBeast 002

Saute until soft…about 5 min or so. Deglaze with 1/8 cup of wine, stirring well to get all the little caramelized bits up.

Add roast back on top of the veg mix, drizzle well with worcestershire sauce, dump can of tomatoes over the top, pour 1/4 cup water around the sides and nestle your 4 bays leaves in.

RoastBeast 004

(I apologize for the potato quality of this photo, I was standing on my tippy toes to try to get the whole shot and I was wavery.)

Hit the Manual button and add 10 minutes to the 30 that automatically shows up. The default setting for the Instant Pot is high pressure so you have no need to fiddle with that. Make sure your quick steam release is closed, and leave it. When the beeper goes off, shut off the pot, and open the quick release. Once the baby dragon has vented it’s spleen, open the pot and you have roast. Simple as.

Edit: When I opened the belly of the beast, I poked the roast and decided to give it another 12 minutes of cooking time. We shall see how it fares when I crack the dragon again.

Second Edit: The beef is done. I have removed it and the 4 bay leaves from the pot, added a can of beef broth, a 1/4 cup of water and a 12 oz box of Fiber Gourmet rotini pasta. Am cooking for another 3 min while I slice & cube the beef. Will add the beef and some frozen mixed veg back to the finished pasta, saute a bit and VOILA…Beef & Noodles.

Leave a Reply

