Acorn-Potato-Corn Chowder

It’s cold and miserable out. Below freezing and it’s been sleeting & snowing all day. I had previously decided I did not want to cook tonight and had informed the men folk that they needed to scrounge for dinner. Then I got a wild hair up my ass to make soup…again. This is what I did:

1 tbl extra virgin olive oil

pulp from one small acorn squash that has been pressure cooked and mashed

4 cups of low sodium chicken stock

2 cans of cream style corn

1 cup of 2% milk

1 – 4 oz package of applewood smoked bacon instant mashed potatoes

herb seasonings of your choice (I used some archer farms everyday seasoning)

1/2 of a large red onion, diced

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1/8 cup of brandy for deglazing

1-2 tbl butter

the merest drizzle of agave syrup

salt & pepper to taste

Turn the baby dragon (aka Instant Pot pressure cooker) to saute and add the olive oil. When it starts to get hot, add onion and stir well to coat with oil. Allow to saute for about 2 minutes then add the garlic. WHen things start to get a little color and the onion bits are beginning to stick, add the brandy to deglaze. Scrape in the squash pulp and mix well. Add stock, corn and seasonings.

Close the lid, shift the vent nozzle closed and set the baby dragon on Manual and the time for 5 minutes. When you hear the the tell-tale beep, shut off the pot and vent. Once Dragolet has vented his spleen, open and stir well. Add the cup of milk, potatoes, butter and agave and whisk until blended, adding salt & pepper at your discretion.

AcornChowder 001

I did not add any additional salt to this as I figured the corn, stock and potaotes had more than enough, however, I did add a shake of white pepper.

Sorry for the lack of photos, but I wasn’t sure I was going to blog this until I was done and it turned out so very nice.

 

Leave a Reply

